# IAEA-NRA Meeting on the IAEA Regulatory Review on ALPS Treated Water Handling Agenda

# Date:

From 16<sup>th</sup> January 2023 to 20<sup>th</sup> January 2023

#### Time:

9:00-18:00

### Venue:

NRA meeting room on 13<sup>th</sup> floor

# Participants:

See Attachment 1

### Topics:

- A. Responsibilities and Functions of the Government
- B. Major Principles and Safety Objectives
- C. Authorization Process
  - C-1 Regulatory process under the Reactor Regulation Act
  - C-2 Radiological Environmental Impact Assessment (REIA)
  - C-3 Characterization of Source Term
  - C-4 Occupational Radiation Protection
- D. Source Monitoring and Environmental Monitoring
  - D-1 Regulatory Aspects on Source Monitoring
  - D-2 Overview of NRA's Environmental monitoring based on Comprehensive Radiation Monitoring Plan
- E. Public Consultation and Involvement of Interested Parties

IAEA Participants				
Gustavo CARUSO	Director, Coordinator ALPS Water, NS			
Eric FREEMAN	Programme Officer, NS			
Joanne BROWN	Unit Head, Assessment and Mgmt. of Env. Releases Unit			
Burcin OKYAR	Radiation Safety Specialist			
Anna CLARK	Section Head, Waste and Environmental Safety Section			
Megan COOK	Research Scientist, Radiometrics Laboratory, IAEA/Monaco			
IAEA Specialists				
Abel GONZALEZ	Argentine Republic			
Rick TINKER	Australia			
Marie-Claude GREGOIRE	Canada			
Senlin LIU	People's Republic of China			
Jean-Luc LACHAUME	France Republic			
Hong Suk KIM	Republic of Korea			
Candice GUAVIS	Republic of the Marshall Islands			
Sergey SHINKAREV	Russian Federation			
Jo NETTLETON	United Kingdom			
Mike BOYD	United States of America			
NGUYEN Hao Quang	Socialist Republic of Viet Nam			

YAMANAKA Shinsuke	Chairman			
BAN Nobuhiko	Commissioner			
MORISHITA Yasushi	Deputy Director-General			
Office for Accident Measures of Fukushima-Daiichi NPS				
TAKEUCHI Jun	Director			
IWANAGA Kohei	Director for Planning and Research			
SHIBUTANI Tomoki	Director for Planning and Research			
OGINO Haruyuki	Senior Officer			
OTSUJI YAMAMOTO Ayako	Deputy Director			
MATSUDA Hideo	Deputy Director			
SUGIURA Nobuyuki	Technical Support Officer			
KONISHI Koji	Chief			
SHIOKARAMATSU Masaki	Chief			
Division of Research for Severe Ac	cident			
NIISOE Tamon	Senior Specialist			
Radiation Monitoring Division				
IMAI Toshihiro	Director			
HOSOGAI Takuya	Deputy Director			
IKEDA Takafumi	Deputy Director			
KAWAMURA Hana	Chief			
Division of Specified Oversight				
YAMAMOTO Yoshihiro	Chief Nuclear Inspector			
nternational Affairs Office				
NIIOKA Terumasa	Deputy Director			
KUBO Kazuzo	Deputy Director			
KITAOKA Michiyo	Specialist			
ONOYAMA Kai	Specialist			
Eukushima Daiichi NRA Regional	Office			
KOBAYASHI Ryusuke	General Manager			
KUROKAWA Takeo	Nuclear Safety Inspector			
KIMURA Toru	Nuclear Safety Inspector			

Λ	MOE Participants			
V	Water Environment Division, Environmental Management Bureau			
	MAEDA Naohiro	Deputy Director		

MAGIR Dibisiproleus	Section Chief			
International Nuclear Cooperation Division Disarmament,				
Non-Proliferation and Science Department				

HAYASHIDA Akiko (*)	Director
FUJITA Shun (*)	Assistant Director
MIURA Kohei (*)	Researcher

(\*) remote participants